Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Unquiet Country

The Unquiet Country

Patrick Milian

Music by Emerson Eads

Regular price $18.95
Regular price Sale price $18.95
Sale Sold out

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER! Publication date is March 11, 2024. We expect to start shipping pre-orders in mid-January. 

We are pleased to present the debut poetry collection by Seattle writer, Patrick Milian. The Unquiet Country includes commissioned music from Emerson Eads and Patrick reading selections from the book.

The Unquiet Country explores the history and relationships of French sisters, pianists, and composers Lili and Nadia Boulanger. The collection isn’t merely their poetic biography but a queering of their biography, a contemplation on illness, fame, or its absence, and ultimately, power. It raises the question of how we can attain power for ourselves in a patriarchal and anti-queer society. 

In counterpoint with the Boulangers’ lives, Milian employs a multi-vocal approach to delve into divas, femme-fatales, and his own history as a queer poz Cuban-American.

Nadia Boulanger (1887-1979) is arguably the most influential composition pedagogue of the twentieth century, while Lili Boulanger (1893-1918) holds the distinction of being the first woman to win the Prix de Rome Composition Prize.

View full details

Product Details

ISBN: 9780960045747

Paper, 7 x 9, 138 pgs, audio download

Publication Date: